Connect Addon with sqlite db

Hi there,

I am really really new to Addon Developement

What i’m doing is an addon, that fetches data from a website and stores it in a database in our local Network. So that you can access data from every computer in this Network.

What i tried to do is to connect to an sqlite database but everything I found seamt to be old and didn’t work.

Last thing I tried was to install a node.js module named “sqlite3” into the addon. That worked fine.

But including the module with var sqlite = require("sqlite3").verbose(); like seen in this tutorial [http://blog.modulus.io/nodejs-and-sqlite][1]

running the addon with jpm run gives me this Errormessage:

Module ‘path’ is not found at resource://gre/modules/commonjs/path.js

Here, the whole Error:

Now i have some questions:

1. Is that a right way to access a sqlite db? If not, can anyone give me an introduction or a tutorial link or something like that, that helps me connecting to a sqlite?

2. If using the node.js module is a good way, how can i solve the error?

I hope, I can solve this with your help.

Michael
[1]: http://blog.modulus.io/nodejs-and-sqlite

What I think is causing this error is simply that Firefox isn’t Node.js
Most node modules are going to be dependent on Node.
What the “node_pre_gyp” module is doing is requiring the module “path”, a core module of node and not a module of Firefox.

You should look for a SQLite library that is meant for the front-end instead of the back-end.

Isn’t it possible to use node.js in an add-on?

To use sqlite from an addon, you can use the Sqlite.jsm javascript code module. From an sdk addon, you might need to load the Components.utils object as described here.

var {Cu} = require('chrome');

Where Cu will be equal to Components.utils.

No, don’t know why it would.
Unless the the node module isn’t dependent on anything of Node itself.
They both use the CommonJS standard, so that part should be compatible.