Auto-Container for Set Sites

Hi everyone,

I created an account for the purpose of this single question, so hopefully it’s worth it. The idea is quite simple. I have created 7 different Containers that I currently use: Personal Life; University Work; Random Search; Social Media; Shopping; News; and Finance. I will obviously use certain websites only in certain Containers, such as Facebook/Twitter in Social Media, and Amazon in Shopping.

The idea that I hope could be created is that instead of always having to pick a Container, one might be able to merely open a new tab, go to (for example) “www.facebook.com” and that Container be allocated the “Social Media” Container. Essentially, the ability for Containers (the program) to recognise frequently visited websites in exclusive Containers (e.g. I only visit Facebook in my Social Media tab, and only BBC in my News tab).

Whilst I am no competent programmer, I have done Computer Science before and this could be done in two quite simple ways:

1. Manual Allocation - I spend 30 minutes allocating specific websites to specific Containers. If I ever navigate to that website, it will be placed into that Container Tab. It simply makes the process of Containerisation (a lovely word, not usually used in this sense) more efficient.

2. Basic Algorithm - A basic algorithm that recognises when websites are visited, and are exclusive to a single container.

Thanks for reading,

Jacob

p.s. I am not sure how allocating container after navigating to a link would affect cookies moving across different containers. Maybe that’s a problem. But, that’s for you guys to work out so good luck! By the way, I love Containers, so thanks for making it :slight_smile:

1 Like

There’s a website assignment feature in the latest version of the experiment.

https://jotter.jonathankingston.co.uk/blog/2017/04/04/containers-assignment/

It’s not super-obvious, so we’re about to release an update to the experiment that adds an on-boarding panel for it.